Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science

Student Cohorts: class pictures

TCBES Faculty

Jason E. Adolf jadolf@hawaii.edu 

Associate Professor & Chair, Marine Science

Phytoplankton ecology, Native Hawaiian fish pond ecology, Gambierdiscus & ciguatera, real time continuous monitoring of the coastal ocean of Hawaii

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/keaohou/2013/10/15/adolf-marine-science/


 Norman Arancon  normanq@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, CAFNRM

Vermicomposting, composting, soil ecology, organic agriculture, tropical fruit crop production, sustainable agriculture 

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/NormanArancon.php


 

Jonathan D. Awaya awayaj@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Biology

Molecular microbiology, bioremediation, iron-trafficking pathways, secondary metabolite production

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/depts/biology/Awaya.php


 

Jim Beets beets@hawaii.edu
Professor, Marine Science

Marine ecology, fish/fisheries ecology, ecological monitoring

http://www.uhh.hawaii.edu/~beets/


Kathryn Besio besio@hawaii.edu

Professor, Geography & Environmental Science

Cultural geography, tourism, nature-society relations

http://www.uhh.hawaii.edu/depts/geography/faculty.php


 

Leng Chee Chang lengchee@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Isolation, characterization, and biological evaluation of natural products of marine and microbial origin

http://pharmacy.uhh.hawaii.edu/cop/psc/lengchee.php


 

Steven Colbert colberts@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Marine Science

Coastal hydrology, carbonate chemistry

http://www2.hawaii.edu/~colberts


Marta de Maintenon demainte@hawaii.edu

Professor, Marine Science

Phylogeny, biogeography and evolution of gastropod molluscs


 

Jesse Eiben eiben@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor, CAFNRM

Insect taxonomy, insect phylogenetics, population and growth modeling, integrated pest management, survivorship analysis, biodiversity statistics

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/JesseEiben.php

 


Armando Garcia-Ortega agarciao@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor, CAFNRM

Aquaculture of local marine fish species

 http://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/ArmandoGarcia-Ortega.php


Joseph Genz  genz@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor

Cultural revitalization of voyaging and navigation 

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/faculty/JoeGenz/ 


Timothy B. Grabowski tbg@hawaii.edu

Unit Leader, Hawaii Cooperative Fishery Research Unit

Adjunct Associate Professor, Marine Science

Fish ecology, fisheries management and conservation, fish reproduction and early life history, behavioral ecology, aquatic landscape ecology

http:\\www.grabowskilab.org


Mazen Hamad mazen@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Environmental Analytical Chemistry

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/depts/chemistry/FacultyandStaff.php


 

Patrick Hart pjhart@hawaii.edu

Associate Director TCBES Graduate Program

Professor & Chair, Biology

Ecology and conservation-Hawaiian forests/forest birds

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/faculty/pjhart/


 

Maria Haws haws@aol.com

Associate Professor, CAFNRM

Director Pacific Aquaculture & Coastal Resources Center

Extension Specialist, University of Hawai‘i Sea Grant Program

Pearl research, aquaculture, marine invertebrates, coastal zone management, natural resources policy

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty.php


 

Kevin Hopkins hopkins@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Aquaculture and fisheries development including their environmental impacts

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty/hopkins.php


 

Susan Jarvi jarvi@hawaii.edu

Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Host-parasite co-evolution, avian disease systems

http://pharmacy.uhh.hawaii.edu/cop/psc/jarvi.php


 

Marina Karides mkarides@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Sociology

Island studies, economic development, and food systems, global and feminist sociology, qualitative research methodologies

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/depts/sociology/faculty.php


 

Matthew L. Knope knope@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor, Biology

Evolutionary ecology of marine and terrestrial organisms

https://matthew-knope.squarespace.com


Yiqing Li yiqing@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, CAFNRM

Forest soil ecology, carbon sequestration of tropical forests, tropical silviculture and forest ecosystem restoration

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty/YiqingLi.php


Chris Lu, chrislu@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Ruminant nutrition

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/


Steven Lundblad slundbla@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Geology

Sedimentary Geology, Geochemistry, Geoarchaeology

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/lundblad/index.php


 

Bruce Mathews bmathews@hawaii.edu

Professor & Interim Dean, CAFNRM

Environmental agronomy, nutrient cycling, water quality, grassland management

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty/mathews.php


 

Sarah Marusek marusek@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor & Chair, Political Science

Legal geography; legal semiotics; everyday jurisprudence; law and society

http://works.bepress.com/sarah_marusek/


 

William J. Mautz mautz@hawaii.edu

Professor, Biology

Environmental toxicology, physiological ecology of reptiles and amphibians

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/mautz/ 


Karla McDermid mcdermid@hawaii.edu

Professor, Marine Science

Seaweed/seagrass taxonomy, ecology, biogeography, chemistry;  and herbivory

http://www.mare.hawaii.edu


Jon-Pierre Michaud jonpierr@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Toxicology, environmental chemistry, pesticides in water and biota, epidemiology of volcanic fog (vog)

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/depts/chemistry/FacultyandStaff.php


 Jene Michaud jene@hawaii.edu

Professor, Geology

Hydrology, watersheds, geomorphology, modeling

http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jene/


 

Peter Mills millsp@hawaii.edu

Director Heritage Management Graduate Program

Professor of Anthropology

Archaeology, historic archaeology

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/millsp/index.php


 

Cam Muir cmuir@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Biology

Ecological genetics/conservation genetics, phylogeography, and local adaptation of endemic Hawaiian fauna

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/faculty/cmuir/


 

Stan T. Nakanishi stn@hawaii.edu 

Assistant Professor, Biology

Neuromodulation, lāʻau lapaʻau (medicinal Hawaiian plants)

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/directory/view/1764


Rebecca Ostertag ostertag@hawaii.edu

Director TCBES Graduate Program

Professor, Biology

Plant community dynamics, nutrient cycling, restoration of tropical forest ecosystems

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/ostertag/


 

Adam Pack  pack@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Psychology and Biology

Marine mammal behavior, humpback whales, dolphin behavior and cognition

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/depts/biology/faculty.php


Ryan Perroy rperroy@hawaii.edu
Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Science

Exploring land degradation and recovery processes, such as erosion and invasive species, using lidar, remote sensing, X-ray fluorescence, and traditional field methods

http://spatial.uhh.hawaii.edu/index.htm


Jonathan Price jpprice@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor & Chair, Geography & Environmental Science

Biogeography and landscape/vegetation ecology

http://www.uhh.hawaii.edu/depts/geography/faculty.php


 

Michael Shintaku shintaku@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Plant virology

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty/shintaku.php


 

Shihwu Sung, sung45@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Applied Environmental Engineering

https://hilo.hawaii.edu/academics/cafnrm/faculty.php


 

Jolene Sutton jtsutton@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor, Biology

Molecular ecology, population and conservation genetics, genetic engineering, genetic pest management

https://sites.google.com/site/jolenesutton/


Misaki Takabayashi misakita@hawaii.edu

Professor, Marine Science

Coral reef ecology, coral molecular biology, marine microbial molecular biology

http://maunaloa.uhh.hawaii.edu/~misaki/Welcome.html


Li Tao ltao2@hawaii.edu

Assistant Professor, Biology

Regulation of cell division using a combination of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology

http://hilo.hawaii.edu/uhh/faculty/ltao/


 

Jason Turner jpturner@hawaii.edu
Associate Professor, Marine Science

Marine ecology, trophic dynamics of food webs, biochemical tracers

http://foodweb.uhh.hawaii.edu


Tracy Wiegner wiegner@hawaii.edu

Professor, Marine Science

Freshwater and coastal water quality, nutrient and organic matter cycling, microbial processes

http://www.uhh.hawaii.edu/~wiegner/

Last updated: November 2016